Department of Chemistry Graduate School of Science, Osaka University


Brief History

The Department of Chemistry in the Graduate School of Science was established in the year 1931 during the foundation of the Osaka Imperial University. Since then, the department has expanded from its original 5 divisions to include 8 divisions and 29 research groups, which investigate a wide array of problems in the field of chemical research. As a component of this expansion, the Department of Macromolecular Science was founded in 1959. Although the two departments are separate, the Department of Chemistry is responsible for the undergraduate course in chemistry.

Department of Chemistry

Chemistry plays a central role in material sciences and is concerned with the synthesis, structure, and properties of materials and their interactions and reactions.

The Department of Chemistry consists of

The Department encompasses most areas of modern chemistry and is highly respected internationally. Based on its education and research activities, the department offers the degrees of Master of Science (M.S.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). Graduates from the Department are active in research and/or development in universities, national institutes, and companies.

The Department of Chemistry includes 8 divisions